HISTORY

Viktor Schorkops, Company founder: „There will always be a way.

Our new company premises, in the industrial park „Zur Domäne“ in Bütgenbach in Belgium, Viktor Schorkops is still very present today in 2014. His portrait is hanging in the entrance stairwell in the beautiful new building, which the company moved into in 2005. It shows an established sixty year old with a broad smile and sparkling bright eyes ...

Compared to the pioneer years the contrast couldn’t be bigger in the now bright and inviting entrance area, because Viktor Schorkops started his company in 1967 in the basement of his private home in Büllingen.

In the beginning the lathe operator specialized on the manufacturing of flanges (“bride” in french) for cooling fans for trucks built by Mercedes. But additionally to the automobile industry also the paper industry in Malmedy near by recognizes the potential of the small business. Thanks to regular assignments from Intermills (later Gruppo Cordenons) in Malmedy and partnership that spanned over decades, Mecabride establishes a unique expertise in the paper industry, which even after 40 years – according to the technical sales representative Francis Bracco, who has been working there for many years – says “that it made his son, the current Boss Eric Schorkops, one of the most valued and respected experts in this field today”.

In 1997 Eric Schorkops, certified electrical mechanic, joins his father’s business. Three years later, with a new focus on planning and development of special machinery, the business moves into a two story hall in Weywertz, which also makes the complete manufacturing of machines possible. Mecabride employs the first engineer. The workshop employs now 3 skilled workers.

Now also businesses in the wood-, plastic- and metal industries trust Mecabride more and more with the constructions of special equipment, which forces father and son after just four years from leaving the basement into a brand new hall, to consider building a bigger manufacturing hall and an adjacent office complex.

In October 2005 Mecabride moves into its current location. Equipped with the office of studies, a huge manufacturing hall and offices, the conception and assembly of custom machinery and prototypes seem unstoppable.

Eric Schorkops had the mile stones of the history of this company carved into the steps of the elegant stainless steel staircase, which winds itself from the ground floor to the first floor: Currently the last entry is the death of Viktor Schorkops, who died only three weeks after having moved into the new premises at the age of 68. “It’s almost as if my father waited for the company to move here and resume its normal business ...” , Eric Schorkops says.

SON HISTOIRE

Viktor Schorkops, fondateur de Mecabride : « Il y a toujours une solution. »


En 2014, la présence du fondateur, Viktor Schorkops, est encore palpable dans le nouveau bâtiment situé dans le parc industriel « Zur Domäne » de Butgenbach, en Belgique. Dans l’escalier du bâtiment flambant neuf où la société a emménagé en octobre 2005 trône son portrait : celui d’un fringant sexagénaire, tout sourire, au regard reflétant vivacité et intelligence...


Entre le décor des débuts des activités de Viktor Schorkops, en 1967, dans la cave de sa maison à Büllingen et ce hall d’entrée lumineux et accueillant, le contraste est éblouissant.

Au départ , l'usineur se spécialise dans la fabrication de brides pour les ventilateurs de refroidissement des camions Mercedes. Après l’industrie automobile, c’est au tour de l’usine papetière de la ville toute proche de Malmedy de remarquer la PME. Grâce aux commandes régulières d’Intermills (futur Gruppo Cordenons) et au fil de dizaines d’années de collaboration, Mecabride acquiert une expertise inégalée dans l’industrie du papier. C’est grâce à cette expérience de 40 années que l’actuel patron, Eric Schorkops, fils du fondateur, « est aujourd’hui un expert estimé et respecté des industriels », explique Francis Bracco, collaborateur technico-commercial de longue date chez Mecabride.

En 1997, Eric Schorkops, électromécanicien diplômé, entre dans la société de son père. Trois ans plus tard, l’entreprise, qui se concentre désormais sur la conception et le développement de machines spéciales, s’installe à Weywertz dans un atelier sur deux niveaux pouvant accueillir tout le processus de fabrication. Mecabride engage son premier ingénieur. L’atelier emploie aujourd’hui 3 ouvriers qualifiés.


Face au nombre croissant d’entreprises de l’industrie du bois, du plastique ou de la métallurgie qui confient à Mecabride la construction de leurs machines spéciales, quatre ans à peine après que la société a quitté la cave et la cour de la maison familiale, le père et le fils se voient contraints d’envisager de faire construire un atelier plus spacieux avec un complexe de bureaux adjacent.


En octobre 2005, Mecabride emménage dans ses locaux actuels. Dotés d’un bureau d’étude, d’un vaste atelier d’assemblage et de bureaux, ceux-ci ne mettent plus de limites à la conception et à la construction de machines et prototypes sur mesure.


Eric Schorkops a fait graver les jalons de l’histoire de la société dans les marches de l’élégant escalier en acier inoxydable qui serpente entre le rez-de-chaussée et le premier étage. La dernière inscription commémore le décès de Viktor Schorkops, qui s’est éteint à l’âge de 68 ans, trois semaines à peine après le déménagement dans les nouveaux locaux. « C’est presque comme si mon père avait attendu que la société soit installée sur son nouveau site et que tout ait repris son cours normal... », confie Eric Schorkops.